Blessings on the Blossoms (Yugambeh)

I’ve been enjoying some time on the school holidays reading my Yugambeh dictionary. I would like to use the Yugambeh words more frequently in my daily life, bringing them in a natural way into our local language. The best way to begin this, I feel, is to use them with the verses we use every day. Today I translate the favourite meal-time blessings, “Blessings on the Blossoms”. The original verse goes like this:

Blessings on the blossoms. Blessings on the roots.

Blessings on the leaves and stems. Blessings on the fruit.

I could not find a word for ‘blessing’ so I used the word numala, which means embrace – and in the end that is kind of perfect for us at Numala Kinder, isn’t it? I also could not find a word for ‘fruit’ because in Yugambeh the word for fruit is the same as the name of the tree it comes from.  Isn’t that interesting? So instead I used the word for ‘food’ instead. This is another reason I like to do this, to discover how language is used in different ways, for different reasons; to use language to connect with our place.

I am only using my Yugambeh Dictionary and Language App so I am not certain if I am correct with the use of these words. If you have experience with this language, please feel free to guide me! Here is my Yugambeh version:

Numala wongarra (embrace the flowers)

Numala waran (embrace the roots)

Numala worong, tullei (embrace the leaves, the trees)

Numala noung (embrace the food)

To read the other songs and verses I have translated into Yugambeh words, click HERE

20140417_140858

What are your thoughts?

